Falling in love is dangerous for brown boys because under white supremacy we are not people to love. Falling in love is dangerous for brown boys because people don’t fall in love with brown boys. Falling in love is dangerous for brown boys until we can learn to love ourselves. How do I decolonize my desire so I can desire myself? How do I love myself in a world that has tells me over and over I am not someone to love? How can I decolonize my desire so I will never again look at a white boy who will never see me as the goddess I am?

Brown bodies can’t be neutral. Brown bodies have to aggressively love ourselves and each other as a process of healing.

I wonder if white boys take it personally when they’re loved. I wonder if they recognize they’re just the modern manifestation of the centuries of valuing bodies like theirs.

It would be silly if they took it personally.

queering the game of life

Leave a comment